Heads up, BigSeaFans! Big Sea Games has been offline for a long time, and it’s time for us to move our Big Fish Games content elsewhere. From now on, all Big Fish Games content can be found at CasualWish, a site devoted to all things Big Fish Games.

Proceed to CasualWish.com

All Big Sea Games content on this site will remain in place for historical purposes. Thank you for your visit and your support! I can’t wait to serve you even better on CasualWish!

<3 Lure

The Final Countdown

by Lure on August 17, 2009


Hi folks! We’re in the final countdown of hours to the launch of Big Sea Games! I’d like to thank you all for your patience — it’s been hard, as a fan of the game community just like you, to wait for the past eight months. (I personally have been a beta tester since OMG LAST DECEMBER.) I’m glad I was able to bring you as much news as I have (thanks to my contacts at Big Fish for helping me clarify when details were still fuzzy, as well as for helping me be able to release a few ‘sneak peeks’ before anyone else). With that said.. on to the news!

This thread will remain until the official launch of Big Sea Games and I’ll update below with questions and answers and the latest happenings.

Most questions can be answered by reading the news articles on the What’s New page from the old Game Community.

Update: Tuesday 8/18 8am EST/5am PST
We’re in the home stretch. The old Game Community site will be up until 9am PST. Go ahead and take in its last moments if you’d like — play your favorite game and add a few new people (like me, Lure) to your friends list. See you on the other side!

Update: Tuesday 8/18 12pm EST/9am PST
And, poof, the site is gone. The waiting period for Big Sea Games truly begins now! Stay tuned right here: I’ll keep you posted if I hear any news about their progress, but we should expect to be without games for 5-6 hours.

I took a screenshot of the final moments for posterity’s sake. Peace out, yo.

goingdown_peaceout

Update: Tuesday 8/18 2:30pm EST/11:30am PST
Official word is that everything is going smoothly with the transition! Everything is on schedule and no issues have come up! Hooray!

Update: Tuesday 8/18 4:30pm EST/1:30pm PST
The transition continues at a steady pace. :) *taps foot*

Update: Tuesday 8/18 5:30pm EST/2:30pm PST
They’re putting the finishing touches on the site and it should be up and ready soon. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that they don’t run into any problems and we’ll be back in no time!

Update: Tuesday 8/18 6:15pm EST/3:15pm PST
And I quote: “We are very close to being done, only a few more minutes.” Hoooray!!

Update: Tuesday 8/18 7:00pm EST/4:00pm PST
Should be any minute now… “Someone here just said the magic words ‘We are good to go.’” Yay!

Q&A

* Will this web site remain bigfishgamer.com or are you changing your name to reflect the new Big Sea Games site?
I’m going to leave this site as bigfishgamer.com for a variety of reasons. The biggest reason is that there are a ton of people who know the site by name and I want to make sure they’ll still be able to find it. In addition, I’ll still be offering the daily new releases from Big Fish and from time to time writing about my latest downloadable addictions, so the name is still more or less appropriate.

* I don’t get it, what’s happening to Big Fish Games?
Only the Big Fish Games Online Community is moving to Big Sea Games. You will still get all of your favorite download and online games at Big Fish Games.

* Where can I get a sneak peek of the games and awards that will be available at launch?
There will be 19 games to play. All of them will feature updated graphics and awards, and some feature new gameplay! Check them out by clicking on the links to view either the awards you can earn or new screenshots of the games!

Deuces Wilder (awards, screenshots)
Fairway Solitaire (awards)
Farm 52 (awards, screenshots)
L.O.B.E. (awards)
Mahjong Towers Eternity (awards & screenshots)
Mush! (awards)
Oz Video Poker (awards & screenshots)
Plunder (awards, screenshots)
Riddle O’Day (awards, screenshots
Shape Shifter (awards, screenshots)
Suits Me Canfield (awards, screenshots)
Suits Me Free Cell (awards, screenshots)
Suits Me Pyramid (awards, screenshots)
Suits Me Solitaire (awards, screenshots)
Suits Me TriPeaks (awards, screenshots)
Suits Me Yukon (awards)
Team Bingo (awards)
Thunderbolt 21 (awards, screenshots)
Unwell Mel (awards)

* What’s the timeline for the launch of Big Sea Games?
Big Fish has recently posted their timeline — but the short answer here is that they’ll start the process at 9am PST. It’ll take 5-6 hours and during this time period both the old and new sites will be unaccessible. For most people in the US, we’ll be playing by Tuesday evening. (We discussed at length the difference in time zones all over the world and how to calculate your own time zone difference here, please don’t ask what time you’ll be able to play.)

* Is it true that you have to go to www.bigseagames.com to get to the new games?
No. There will be a link to bigseagames.com from atlantis.bigfishgames.com (and bigfishgames.com) for a while, but after bigseagames.com is available you may want to bookmark it on your first visit.

* Do we get to keep all of our tokens?
Yes, you’ll get to keep your tokens (and in some cases your game progress too). The details are here.

If you have any other questions, feel free to post them in a comment below.

Previous post:

Next post:

Copyright © BigSeaFans.com